7 Mayıs 2013 Salı

The New Mexico Quarter

The New Mexico Quarter

The second commemorative quarter-dollar coin released in 2008 honors New Mexico and is the 47th coin in the United States Mint’s 50 State Quarters® Program. New Mexico, nicknamed the "Land of Enchantment," was admitted into the Union on January 6, 1912, becoming the nation’s 47th state. The reverse of New Mexico’s quarter features a Zia sun symbol over a topographical outline of the state with the inscription "Land of Enchantment." The coin also bears the inscriptions "New Mexico" and "1912."
The Zia Pueblo
The great influence of Native American cultures can be found throughout New Mexico. The Zia Pueblo believe the sun symbol represents the giver of all good, who gave gifts in groups of four. From the circle representing life and love without beginning or end, the four groups of four rays that emanate represent the four directions, the four seasons, the four phases of a day (sunrise, noon, evening, and night), and the four divisions of life (childhood, youth, middle years, and old age).
Choosing the Design
The New Mexico Coin Commission, appointed by Governor Bill Richardson, solicited and reviewed approximately 1,000 concept submissions from state citizens. The commission then constructed four narrative concepts that represented the most popular elements submitted by the public and forwarded them to the United States Mint for consideration. The final artistic renderings developed by United States Mint sculptor-engravers and artists participating in the United States Mint’s Artistic Infusion Program were then proposed to New Mexico for a final selection process. On April 24, 2007, Governor Richardson announced his recommendation of the "Zia Symbol over Topographical State Outline" design.
The Department of the Treasury approved the design on May 25, 2007. The other three designs considered were "Zia Symbol over Textured State Outline," "Textured Zia Symbol over State Outline," and "Zia Symbol over Textured State Outline," with the Zia symbol marking the location of the capital, Santa Fe.

The 50 State Quarter ProgramSigned into law in 1997, the 50 States Commemorative Coin Program Act has become the most successful numismatic program in American history, with roughly half of the U.S. population collecting the coins, either in a casual manner or as a serious pursuit. The program produces five different reverse designs each year for ten years—each representing a different state—the order of which is determined by the order states were admitted to the Union. Design concepts are submitted to the Secretary of the Treasury by state governors for final approval. The obverse of each quarter is a slight redesign of the quarter's previous design. The cost to manufacture a quarter is about 5 cents, providing a profit of approximately 20 cents per coin. So far, the federal government has made a profit of $4.6 billion from collectors taking the coins out of circulation. In 2009, the U.S. Mint launched a separate program issuing quarters commemorating the District of Columbia and various U.S. territories.

Download a Hi-Res Image:
Proof Image
Uncirculated Image
Release Date:April 7, 2008
Design:Zia Sun symbol
State outline 
Captions:"Land of Enchantment"
Designer:Don Everhart
Engraver:Don Everhart
Mintage:Denver Mint
  - 244,400,000
Philadelphia Mint
  - 244,200,000
Denomination:Quarter Dollar
Composition:Copper Nickel alloy
91.67% Cu
8.33% Ni
Weight:2.000 oz (5.670 g)
Diameter:0.955 in (24.26 mm)
Thickness:0.07 in (1.75 mm)
No. of Reeds:119
Data Source: The U.S. Mint.

Hiç yorum yok:

Yorum Gönder